Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

magnet poles

edited August 2014 in General Science
I am new to all this and was wondering if anyone could tell me if it is possible to purchase or make a magnet with only a north or south pole.
Thanks, Dan

Comments

• edited August 2014
    Hi Dan Welcome to the forum, It's been theorized that if you break a bar magnet in to two parts then both pieces of that bar magnet will have a both north and a south pole and if you continue dividing that bar magnet in to its smallest unit a magnetic dipole would come to be. Its a physical impossibility for a magnet to be made to retain one pole and if possible is would be known as magnetic monopole.
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Magnetic_monopole
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Magnetic_dipole
    However in Edward Leedskalnins book MAGNETIC CURRENT he writes about individual North and South magnets which one might deduce as magnetic monopole and stop right there and look now further viewing Eds writing as junk science. Now Ed writing is not junk science and individual North and South magnets are real and the results of these individual North and South magnets is electricity. Here some quotes from his book MAGNETIC CURRENT.
    Magnetic currents, or if you want to call it electric current, make no light. We only get light if we put obstructions in the light bulbs. In the light bulbs the wire is so small that all magnets cannot pass through easily, so they heat the wire up and burn and make light. If the wire in the light bulb had been as large inside as it is outside then there would be no light. Then those individual magnets which are in the coil would dissipate in air. Page 11