Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Electrically enhancing a permanent magnet

Good day,
I am a magnetism layman and have a question that I have not been able to find the answer to, any help/direction would be appreciated.

Can you get a permanent magnet, add a coil around it and power source (like that of an electromagnet) to enhance its magnetic force?

Has this already been done and if so what are they called?

I understand there are possible variables, but does it as yet exist?

Regards,

87sf

Comments

• edited September 2016
    It's in ed leedskalnin magnetic current..
  • Well that seems confusing.
    So the simple answer is... Yes it can be done? No specific name for this configuration?
  • edited September 2016
    Yes, this can be done, but is there a reason why you just wouldn't use an electromagnet forgoing the permanent magnet altogether? I ask because Leedskalnin mentions an extra 'winding' on page 13 of Magnetic Current, but makes no mention of an additional 'power source'...

Now I will illustrate how my best machine is doing it. I will use only one coil, and one U shape permanent magnet without using the winding that the machine uses to increase the permanent magnet strength.
  • edited September 2016
    Go look at my latest picture the female has one "CORE
  • Thank you.
    M_U: I was thinking that about energy input to magnetic output. My thought was that you might get a greater magnetic output from "enhancing" a permanent magnet with a small input then simply making an electromagnet. The other thing was that if there was a way to increasingly create an energy output by the permanent magnet that in turn feeds the energy input to "enhancing" the permanent magnet further it would be self perpetuating. Sorry if that comes across confusing.

Antig: I will look into your posts.
  • @87sf